Saturday, April 2, 2016

The re-release of Half Cast


Half Cast, the title you've all been waiting for is now available on your *digital devices. If you need the next installment in the Helheim Wolf Pack Series, just click on the links below.

If you love the series and haven't left a review yet, I'd love for you to take the time to do just that. Your review doesn't have to be an essay; it can be as short as a couple of sentences! Just tell people why (or why they shouldn't) read the series.

I hope you love Alex and Saskia's story.


*Coming to Kobo, iTunes and Nook very soon

Friday, March 11, 2016

A peek into Half Blood before it became the version it is today

I've been looking through some old versions of Half Blood recently and came across this prologue, which never made it into the book. It's a little strange to look back on something I'd written so long ago (2011), but nonetheless, I thought I'd share it with you. 

It was written in the first person (something I hate!) and it's Indi who's speaking.

Enjoy!

//**\\


Life is not a fairy tale. There is never a prince waiting to rescue me from danger. There is never a spell that breaks revealing everything as a dream. There are the first breaths of life where your dignity is left open for all to view as your naked body is torn from your mother’s womb. And there are the last shuddering breaths of death, where you are left alone and dying, hoping that someone gave a damn enough to hold your hand, and tell you that it is alright to be scared. 
And that shade of grey in between? Well, that is life, real life. Or maybe it is just surviving…yeah surviving is probably a better word for it.

In life, some people are dealt good hands, others are not. You can’t fold on your life, unless you wish to embrace death early. Sometimes though, you aren’t dealt a good or a bad hand. Sometimes you’re dealt the jokers and told to deal with it. 

That is my life.

In a world where fairy tales are supposed to be just that, tales, I am left wondering who in the hell had lied to me. Who had told me that there was no such thing as the monster under the bed, or the evil step-mother who would rather see you dead than alive? Whoever said that there is no such thing as creatures that go bump in the night are god-damned liars.

I’m going to give you the advice that I was never given...

Deal with it.

Sunday, March 6, 2016

Half Blood: Prologue


Prologue

James Vincent’s earliest memory of his mother was ripply—distorted as though looking through warped glass. He could see her standing above him, looking at him—not with love in her eyes like a mother should, but rather with malice. Her anger towards him was as palpable as the hand holding down his small body. His arms and legs were flailing around aimlessly, looking for purchase, but finding none. 

Then he was able to breathe again. When the water cleared from his eyes, James found his father holding his mother away from the bath tub. They were screaming at each other, but James couldn’t make out the words over the chattering of his teeth. His father’s strong arms were suddenly around him then, lifting him out of the icy water and holding him close to his warm chest. 

He was placed on the bed, blankets around him, watching his father pack a big suitcase for himself and a small one for James filled with his toys. James didn’t understand what was happening at the time, but he understood his mother’s look of smug triumph when his father carried him out the door that same night. 

When James was ten, his father died in a car accident leaving him no choice but to go back to his mother. By that time though, his mother was no longer the secretary for a failing tire store, but a hooker turning tricks to make ends meet. 

The shame of selling her body broke his mother. Her desperation to cleanse her soul and her body came in the form of a whiskey bottle. After she doused the fire of regret from her body, she took to beating James—cracking multiple ribs at a time, opening up new cuts that spilled crimson tears down his cheeks, or breaking his fingers during her many alcohol-fueled rages. 

When James was twelve, his mother dragged him to the seediest bar in the next town over to sell her body to anyone willing. She’d brought James along because he’d started running away from her whenever she left the house. The evening was slow. She’d only managed a few blow jobs in the bathroom, but she had earned enough cash for a cheap bottle of whiskey. When she’d finished that bottle, she needed another. Desperation drove her to sell James to a complete stranger for another opportunity to get numb.

James managed to escape and a few days later, the police found James wandering the streets, looking through garbage bins for food scraps. He was returned to his mother, not telling the police the real reason he was out on the streets. His mother punished him for “running away” from her in the only way she knew. This was the first time she sexually abused him, tying him to the bed, forcing him into arousal then telling him he was a disgusting boy for enjoying it. 

For years, the vicious cycle was perpetuated by liquor and self-loathing until James was old enough to fight her off and defend himself. At the age of seventeen, James came home to find his mother passed out on the couch in front of the TV with a pool of vomit on the floor next to her. She’d spent the entire day drinking again. Disgusted with the sight of her, he went to his bedroom wishing he could have unseen what he’d seen, but there was always that pull to still help her when she drank herself into a stupor.

When he went back through to the kitchen, he heard gagging coming from the living room. He stood in the doorway and watched his mother choke on her own vomit—her eyes bulging and desperate, her air supply running out quickly. The low, desperate noises she was making down in the back of her throat called to him. Against everything that roared through his body to just leave her there, he stepped into the room. Her wide eyes darted to him, begging him to help her. James felt himself being torn in two, like the very fabric he’d been cut from was violently ripping in half. With a shudder, he refocused on his mother. He took a step forward, one part of him wanting to help her—she was his mother after all—but then there was another part of him, this darker, hidden part that wanted her to suffer every cruelty she had ever inflicted on him. 

 His mother died on their sofa, surrounded by cooling vomit––her son watching on with a cruel smile twisting his lips. 


A FIGHT FOR THEIR LIVES


A battle for werewolf territory
and rights has Rhett fighting for his life and for the survival of the pack. The last Half Blood --a half human, half vampire hybrid--has been found and Rhett has been chosen as her unlikely Guardian. The pack's survival hangs on her completing her transformation, but a Sicarii--a vampire assassin--is hunting her to ensure that never happens...


A DARK SECRET REVEALED


Indigo's hard exterior is nothing compared to the dark secret she carries within her. Her haunted eyes alone tell of her struggle and desire to live. But what she doesn't know is that she is hard-wired for survival; the very blood in her veins and the legacy of her father demands it. But when her life takes a violent turn, her heritage and her fate may be the very thing to get her killed...






If you love vampires, werewolves and a bit of intrigue, "Half Blood" is the book for you!

Genre: Urban Fantasy
Length: 230 pages
Price: $2.99



 


Thursday, February 25, 2016

Dark Devotion : Out Now




Beneath Rhys’s skin lies a legendary and feared beast. Rhys is tormented by his daily struggle to contain the ruthless, cold-blooded creature sharing his body. But when his best friend Galen disappears, Rhys’s careful restraint and self-control are finally broken. Fueled with a desire to find Galen, Rhys strikes an unlikely alliance with the only god who knows the truth about his dark past.

Taer has found her revenge, yet she’s still not happy. There’s something missing from her life, but still she fights what her heart is telling her. It’s only when the incredibly infuriating and dangerously sexy Aubrey goes missing that she can admit her true feelings for him. Taer’s racing against time to rescue Aubrey, but when will she finally allow him into her heart?

Perfect for fans of Gina Showalter and Patricia Briggs.



Purchase links




Other titles in this series:

Dark Deceit (book #1) 
Dark Desire (book #2)


About Lauren


Born in South Africa and raised in Sydney, Lauren Dawes is an urban fantasy/paranormal romance writer and the author of the Dark Series.

In 2009, she quit her full-time job teaching English as a Second Language to finally begin writing “that book”, letting her over-active imagination pour out onto the digital pages, much to everyone’s horror. The catch phrase “I didn’t know you had such a dark imagination” only fueled her to write more, where her love for Norse mythology and gods finally got the spotlight.

She currently lives with her husband and daughter in whatever city they happen to be posted to, and her cat, Oscar, who has inspired more than one character quirk or scene in her books.

To find out more, visit www.authorlaurendawes.com

Sunday, February 21, 2016

Just FYI...

In four short days, Dark Devotion - book 3 in the Dark Series - will be released. I cannot tell you how excited I am about this book. The entire series was a complete labor of love, and although I wanted to throw in the towel sometimes, I'm glad I pushed through with my characters and their story.

If you haven't read the first book in the series to see where it all started, you're in luck! Dark Deceit is currently free on Amazon. To get your copy click here. 

If you have read Dark Deceit, I'd love to hear from you. Reviews are an authors bread and butter. Without them, people would probably not take a chance on our books and read them.


You review doesn't have to be long, it just needs to be honest and constructive. If you didn't like something about the book (POV changes/characterization/writing style), that's okay. Writing this in a review in a constructive way will give potential readers a heads-up; they can make their minds up from there. 



If you loved Dark Deceit and want to find out what happens next, Dark Desire is on sale via Amazon.com.au for 0.99c also.

And don't forget you can still pre-order Dark Devotion
Some of my other titles include:

Half Blood Series

Half Blood
Half Truths
Half Life
Half Cast (coming soon)

#werewolves #PNR #vampires #alphamales #urbanfantasy

http://www.amazon.com/Lauren-Dawes/e/B007UWWNDI/ref%3Dsr_ntt_srch_lnk_5?qid=1456050153&sr=1-5